Collaborative or traditional?

The emergence of collaborative robots in the industrial world

The term "cobot" which combines the words "cooperation" and "robotics" appeared for the first time in 1999. However, it was not until 2008 that the first commercially viable model, a UR5 from Universal Robots, appeared on the market. market.

At that time, traditional robot manufacturers had underestimated the enormous potential of the "cobot" market.

Today, collaborative robots are more and more numerous in factories.

The big difference between a collaborative robot and a traditional robot is that the collaborative robot is designed to collaborate with human beings in a common workspace without security (light curtains, laser scanner, security contactors, ...) and all this with great programming simplicity.

Different operations

The design of collaborative robots

The first advantage of cobots is their size and compactness.

A UR5 collaborative robot weighs only 18 kilos. The UR16e, the largest collaborative robot in the range, weighs 33 kg. A fraction of the weight of traditional industrial robots. It is easy to move them on the production chain according to the needs of the company.

Conversely, the traditional robot is generally integrated in a specific location. Its installation and its movement generally require a consequent modification of the production chain.

With its small footprint, the cobot occupies very little space to evolve.

It does not require a safety cage (***).

Coupled with its versatility, it is possible to assign the cobot to a large panel of tasks.

(***) a risk analysis must always be carried out by a specialist before integrating any robot. Indeed, putting a cutter that turns at 8,000 rpm on a cobot will make the integration project of said robot, non-collaborative.

Indeed, where a traditional robot is designed to accomplish a single task, the cobot has (almost) no limit because it can be programmed in a few hours to perform a series of predefined gestures. It can also be fitted with tools at the end of the arm (pliers, screwdriver, suction cup, camera, etc.) to accomplish the task assigned to it.

Another feature or disadvantage of the collaborative robot is its rate. That of a traditional traditional robot is (very) fast. The goal is to always produce more. Traditional traditional robots are very heavy and large, specialized, fast and therefore dangerous for their environment. They are not able to work alongside operators in a common workspace. Safety barriers are required.

The rate of a collaborative robot is slower and configurable. The objective of the cobot is to work in collaboration and alongside the operators in the same workspace, in symbiosis with their rhythm. He is an assistant and not a substitute.

COLLABORATIVE ROBOTS THAT INTEGRATE ALL SAFETY STANDARDS

In order to guarantee safe coexistence with operators, collaborative robots are equipped with numerous security systems. The e-Series robot range therefore has nearly 17 safety functions, such as adjusting the stopping distance. They give the robot awareness of its environment and the ability to stop automatically in the event of an intrusion into its space.

Even in the event of an impact with an operator, the very low weight of their arm almost completely reduces any danger. It is therefore not necessary to surround them with cages, bulky and expensive.

Cobots also obey very strict safety standards. In Europe, the European Commission created the Machine Directive 2006/42 / EC . Its rules must be observed by collaborative robots used within the European Union. This is to ensure consistency of security requirements.

These requirements are notably applied during the compulsory risk assessment and analysis stage . It precedes the installation of the collaborative robot within a company to find the best way to integrate the robot in harmony with the needs and capabilities of the company. Its process is regulated by ISO 10218-2 of the Machine Directive.

In conclusion: before choosing between a collaborative robot or not, it is essential to start from the customer's need and then validate the different possible options. A robot is ultimately just a simple production tool to integrate into a more global project that must strictly meet the needs of a user.

© 2020 LUXROBOTIC - Design by CYBO INTERACTIVE

  • Youtube

Collaboratifs ou traditionnels ?

L'émergence du robot collaboratif dans le monde l'industrie

Le terme de "cobot" qui regroupe les mots « coopération » et « robotique » est apparu pour la première fois en 1999. Pourtant, il faudra attendre 2008 pour que le premier modèle commercialement viable, un UR5 d’Universal Robots, apparaisse sur le marché.

A cette époque, les constructeurs de robots traditionnels avaient sous-estimer l'énorme potentiel du marché des "cobots".

Aujourd’hui, les robots collaboratifs sont de plus en plus nombreux dans les usines. 

La grande différence entre un robot collaboratif et un robot traditionnel est que le robot collaboratif est conçu pour collaborer avec l’être humain dans un espace de travail commun et dépourvu de sécurité (barrières immatériels, scrutateur laser, contacteurs de sécurité,...) et tout ceci avec une grande simplicité de programmation. 

Des fonctionnements différents

La conception des robots collaboratifs

Le premier avantage des cobots est leur taille et leur compacité.

Un robot collaboratif UR5 ne pèse que 18 kilos. L’UR16e, le plus gros robot collaboratif de la gamme, pèse 33 kg. Une fraction du poids des robots industriels traditionnels. Il est aisé de les déplacer sur la chaîne de production en fonction des besoins de l’entreprise. 

À l’inverse, le robot traditionnel est généralement intégré à un endroit déterminé. Son installation et son déplacement demandent généralement une modification conséquente de la chaîne de production.

 

Avec sa faible empreinte au sol, le cobot occupe très peu d’espace pour évoluer.

Il ne nécessite aucune cage de sécurité (***).

Couplé à sa polyvalence, il est possible d’affecter le cobot à un grand panel de tâches.

(***) une analyse de risques doit toujours être effectuée par un spécialiste avant d'intégrer un robot quel qu'il soit. En effet, mettre une fraise qui tourne à 8.000 tour/minute sur un cobot rendra le projet d'intégration dudit robot, non collaboratif.

En effet, là où un robot traditionnel est conçu pour accomplir une seule tâche, le cobot n’a (presque) aucune limite car il peut être programmé en quelques heures pour accomplir une série de gestes prédéfinis. Il peut aussi être équipé d’outils en bout de bras (pince, visseuse, ventouse, caméra…) pour accomplir la tâche qui lui a été attribuée.

Une autre particularité ou un désavantage du robot collaboratif est sa cadence. Celle d’un robot traditionnel classique est (très) rapide. Le but est de produire toujours plus. Les robots traditionnels classiques sont très lourds et larges, spécialisés, rapides et donc dangereux pour leur environnement. Ils ne sont pas capables de travailler aux côtés des opérateurs dans un espace de travail commun. Des barrières de sécurité sont nécessaires.

La cadence d’un robot collaboratif est plus lente et paramétrable. L’objectif du cobot est de travailler en collaboration et aux côtés des opérateurs dans un même espace de travail, en symbiose avec leur rythme. Il est un assistant et non un substitut.

 

DES ROBOTS COLLABORATIFS QUI INTÈGRENT TOUTES LES NORMES DE SÉCURITÉ

 

Afin de garantir une cohabitation en toute sécurité avec les opérateurs, les robots collaboratifs sont munis de nombreux systèmes de sécurité. La gamme de robots e-Series possède ainsi près de 17 fonctions de sécurité, comme l’ajustement de la distance d’arrêt. Elles donnent au robot la conscience de son environnement et la capacité de s’arrêter automatiquement en cas d’intrusion dans son espace. 

Même en cas de choc avec un opérateur, le très faible poids de leur bras diminue quasi-totalement tout danger. Il n’est donc pas nécessaire de les entourer de cages de sécurité, encombrantes et coûteuses. 

Les cobots obéissent également à des normes de sécurité très strictes. En Europe, la Commission européenne a créé la Directive Machine 2006/42/CE. Ses règles doivent impérativement être respectées par les robots collaboratifs utilisés au sein de l’Union européenne. Ceci, afin de garantir une homogénéité des exigences de sécurité.

Ces exigences sont notamment mises en application lors de l’étape obligatoire d’évaluation et d’analyse des risques. Elle précède l’installation du robot collaboratif au sein d’une entreprise pour trouver le meilleur moyen d’intégrer le robot en harmonie avec les besoins et capacités de l’entreprise. Son processus est réglementé par la norme ISO 10218-2 de la Directive Machine. 

En conclusion: avant de choisir entre un robot collaboratif ou non, il est primordial de partir du besoin du clients et d'ensuite, valider les différentes options possibles. Un robot n'est finalement qu'un simple outil de production à intégrer dans un projet plus global qui doit répondre strictement aux besoins d'un utilisateur.

© 2020 LUXROBOTIC - Design by CYBO INTERACTIVE

  • Youtube